horns of wilmington's cow

By anth

It'll be slow progress

On seeing the fox in the garden I managed to rest the lens on my cocked knee, taking all of the rest of the camera weight in my good left hand, meaning my right only had to fire the shutter. Couldn't bend quite enough to get the viewfinder right to my eye. But progress of a sort. Going walking with this lens on is probably still out for a while.

Essentially I can't run the risk of taking any major weight on the right, because until the bone heals it's only the metal plates and screws that are holding the arm together. Though I'm still amazed at what I can do.

There will be dark days, but I've been picking up some positives, and have three major silver linings:

1. I won an international video competition at work today. Voting has been going on for a couple of weeks, but the €449 Expedia voucher has been confirmed as winging its way to me soon.

2. I didn't mention this at the time, but it's still a big thing, and I'm waiting to hear of anything further, but I got two photos shortlisted in a major national wildlife photography competition. Being shortlisted is, in itself, just superb, so I'm fine if it goes no further, but there's still the excitement of waiting.

3. I've just got some wonderful people around me. Mel has been amazing (which I'd expect, but which I'm forever grateful for), and there has been so much support from my work colleagues, such a good bunch. I also popped into the Holiday Inn, who looked after me in the immediate aftermath on Tuesday, to drop off a box of Roses, and chatted to one of the girls who was there on the day. Still got to write letters to both the emergency department and the ward for looking after me, and I need to track down the girl from Edinburgh Leisure who got me and the bike off the road, and went to the hotel to get some first aid and an ambulance.

Oh, and the Tour starts tomorrow. And I've sorted out the loan of a turbo trainer so the fitness doesn't suffer too badly. Positive positive positive. Let's keep that going.

Scar shot in the extras for the non-squeamish. Still bleeding a bit. The main stitched up bit is where they went in to do the surgery (following the line of my previous scar); the smaller bit is where the bone broke out, and it a really awkward shape. I'm not entirely sure I haven't bust a stitch, but we'll see a week today when I go to the nurse to get those stitches removed.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.