Newcastle Downunder

By jensphotos

Winter Heat

Dear Blipmates, I can report the dust has settled.  We did our training for the new volunteers today.  We have 20 newbies.  I hope our co-ordinator finds them facilities they are happy with and they become involved in the branch, we definitely need new blood.  I think it went well enough.  

I had a bit of drama this week with Poppy who had an abscess under her chin.  I immediately thought the worst and was a bit anxious before I could get her to the vets.  She had a GA and came home looking like Frankenstein with tubes to drain it hanging down.  Unfortunately there is only one tube in place now so the antibiotics need to do their magic.  It was caused by a grass seed.  The first time I have had a dog with one but they are apparently common enough and can be quite a problem as they are difficult to find and can migrate in the body.  She is perfectly fine otherwise and she and Hamish went for a long walk this evening along the breakwall. 

On the way home we stopped at Winter Heat which is an event on the harbour foreshore with fire twirlers, dancers, music, food stalls, etc.  All of Newcastle, Maitland and the surrounding areas decided to go to.  Honestly the crowds were worst than Vivid on a slow night.  Not only that, the Council now deploys garbage trucks to block the road in case of terrorists.  Newie is a small regional city and really I think it is overkill but that is just my opinion.  Maybe I just need to get used to it.  Anyway, it is now after 11pm  and I am whittering on here so I will head off to bed and wish you all a good weekend.  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.