Newcastle Downunder

By jensphotos

Drop bears, whale tales and muddy feet

I had a lovely dinner with Cathy and John last night.  Cathy and I went to school together and whenever we get together it is like no time has passed at all.  I really need to make sure I see more of her I think.

It was a lazy start to the day and then a stroll along Redhead beach with the hounds.  Poppy had to be washed when we got home as I was taking her to Nelson Bay Legacy markets for an afternoon shift on the Delta Therapy dog stall. 

She was soooooooo excited she was was going off like a fire in a fireworks factory.   She did eventually calm down.   I got pretty excited too when someone said there was a Koala in a tree nearby in the park where the markets were.  The main blip is the culprit.  When I first saw it, it had it's head down and partially obscured.  When I went back as we were leaving, it was like this.  The Nelson Bay area is renowned for Koalas but this was the first one I have seen there.

One of our therapy dog volunteers also volunteers for whale watch and I asked him to direct me to the place he had previously recommended to watch the whales where they come in close to the shore.  So there was a slight detour on the way home and the position did not disappoint.  Some came in so close I could hear them breathing.  I think I saw about 15 or 16 all told not to mention Orlando Bloom and his drone.  But that's another story.  The first extra was a couple of whales, probably mother and calf, who were a little further out.

The last extra happened when I was coming home and saw the sky colouring.  5 minutes before this it was better as it was slightly more golden.  The only place I could stop meant that I had to walk across mangrove mud and oyster shells to get the waters edge.  There is nothing quite so bad as mangrove mud I think.  Needless to say the shoes are going in the washing machine.

Well that's the weekend nearly over blipmates.  I hope you had a good one.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.