Everyday I Write The Book

By Eyecatching

Connections

It's been a long time.

The journey down to Bristol was not the relaxing experience I had hope for. Had to stand as far as Salisbury. Then the signals failed and we had to get out at a place I never heard of called Westbury as the train would go no further. This was a brilliant example of bad management... total chaos ... sitting in a train waiting for it to move but huge confusion ... no useful information... And then it's cancelled so we've all chucked off ... And then we're told to get back on ... The engines start and the passengers are all cheering ... then the doors open and more people are stuffed in ... eventually get to Bristol via Ambridge, Walmington on Sea and Godric's Hollow ...

My brother S picks me up. He looks more like our father with every passing year. We spend the afternoon sitting around the kitchen table eating and drinking and putting the world to rights. I haven't seen my stepmother in a decade but it's as if the years had never intervened. There is a picture of us all on The March For Peace in 2003 hanging over her bed.

My brother is an amateur genealogist who has traced a lot of our family origins. Turned out we had ancestors in Westbury so I ascribe cosmic significance to my having to change trains there. It's a message, a sign.

My Bristol family is two fifths vegetarian and three fifths vegan so food and drink was easy. Before I know it it's time to get the train home.

Lots of connections today. TSM will be back tomorrow. That's my favourite connection of all.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.