Engagement

My daughter and her boyfriend have been dating since they met sophomore year in college, seven years ago.  They made it official yesterday and plan to get married sometime next year.  My husband and I are thrilled, and have considered him a part of our family for quite some time now.  For some reason, this made me think about my mother, who passed away a year ago.  When I got married she gave me this glass.  She called it a worry glass.  She said if/when my husband and I argued, we could each drink out of this glass.  It would make it better.  I didn't ask her any questions and thought at the time that it was a common gift before marriage.  I googled it today, and don't see anything about this practice.  It is especially interesting to me, because my mother wasn't a particularly sentimental person.  I took the glass out today and placed some of my garden flowers in it.  She loved gardening.  I guess life events like engagements can bring out loving family memories that are just below the surface.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.