OzGeoff

By OzGeoff

Auschwitz

Today we visited both camps at Auschwitz.  It was, as you may imagine to some degree, quite a challenge.  I took many photos and I think I will just spend some quiet time when I get home reflecting on my experience. 

In the Extras is a photo of the platform where thousands left Berlin for their two day plus journey to head to their death or to work in the concentration camps.  I took this shot a couple of days ago.

It has been really special to have a sprightly 91 year old ex British soldier, who now lives in Australia, travelling with us. He didn't join us on the visit but he went to the camp a few days after the Germans were defeated.  Two things he said he can never get out of his mind; the smell and the look in people's eyes.

Whilst I can, to some degree, understand how soldiers would kill other soldiers but how does one kill small children and so, so many?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.