Bedstraw Bower

It is National Meadows Day so I decided to walk from Parndon Mill to Hunsdon Mead nature reserve. It's one of the finest surviving areas of unimproved grassland in Eastern England. I was there for hours completely on my own. It is bounded by the River Stort and the Stort Navigation so there are lots of damsels about. I've never managed to get so close to a female banded demoiselle before. Love the delicate white flowers in the background. I think they're hedge bedstraw. We have the yellow lady's bedstraw in our field.

Todays poem is Raiders' Dawn by Alun Lewis. https://www.thetimes.co.uk/article/raiders-dawn-by-alun-lewis-c0gbvjsh5hp

AL  was a man who fought for his country despite his horror at what war does to humanity. He shot himself in the head in the latrines whilst serving in Burma.  

  

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.