If you can't beat them...

By Jerra

Red Squirrel

Today we are are homeward bound.  Just as you would expect the morning was as wet as yesterday had been.  That put all thoughts of a quick walk down to the cliffs out of my head.

So a quick if damp pack up and we were on the road.  Solid rain all the way until about 6 or 7 miles east of Penrith we could switch off the windscreen wipers.   As we entered the village the roads were dry it hadn't been raining.

One of my first jobs on getting home was to refill the feeders all of which had been emptied.  No matter what food I put on the bird table I always put a few hazelnuts.  I use these as an indicator as to if a squirrel has visited while I wasn't looking - they always eat/take at least one per visit.

Looking out of the window soon after I spotted one.  A new comer recognisable by no ear tufts a darker tail and its wariness.  The others sit around on the table and have a feed.  This one barely touched the table it was so quick.  I was lucky to grab even this shot.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.