If you can't beat them...

By Jerra

30 Days Wild Day 28 - Coenagrion puella

I had a to be near Cockermouth as I had  some input for a "training day.  So I set off in good time but I had,t allowed for turning back as I had forgotten my wallet or the slow lorries on the A66.  I arrived in time but not soon enough to enjoy the marvellous vintage cars which were parked outside.  I gather from a friend who had arrived in time they had been in the county all week.  Travelling round sometimes as much as 90 miles in the day and these were really old "roadsters" with no hard top.

Training over I promised myself a walk beside Bassenthwaite Lake (the only lake in the Lake District) so I headed for a couple of small car parks on a minor road near the distillery.  Fat chance!  They were full.  Luckily there was just room for one car at the National Nature reserve near the Keswick end of the Lake.  Nature reserve?  More like Blackpool beach, as far as I could tell I was the only one who was there because it was a nature reserve.  By wandering along the shore away from everybody I did manage some potential blips.

I chose this shot of the Azure Damselfly not for its quality but because I so rarely manage to get any shot of a Damsel or Dragonfly.  The Azure is very common over much of the UK apart from northern Scotland.  This is a male perched on a sedge which I haven't even attempted to identify.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.