Runners in the Grass

I had one of those occasional orienteering nightmares at today's event on Longstone Moor in Derbyshire.  I arrived at my first control with no problem to discover it wasn't the correct control code!  I went headless chicken for too much time before spotting that I was using the control descriptions from our previous event in the Lake District!  Suffice to say 13 minutes on that control and a 45 degree error going to no. 2 because my head was still elsewhere, meant I finished close to the bottom of the results!  At one point I was wishing I had switched the orienteering for photography because the views from the top of the moor were super, but there you go.  The minute I arrived back at the car I took both rogue and today's sets of descriptions out of my orienteering bag - that won't happen again!!

We wanted to get back in time to watch the Sprint Relay at the World Orienteering Champs in Estonia on the internet as our mixed GB team had a chance of getting a medal.  Sadly one or our runners had a calf injury and then made a sixty second error and the team dropped to sixth place, still pretty good, but it will be disappointing for him and the team.

So my only blip of the day is this one, taken from the carpark area on Longstone Moor, capturing a handful of runners relaxing in the grass discussing their courses.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.