The Dead Pixel Journals

By 0xFF

"Relics"

There's nothing more satisfying than the "thud" of the sylus, as you place it on a record. Then the little crackles, and pops, as the needle his debris stuck in the groove. My collection is long gone now - recycled into toilet seats probably.
I always loved that some engineer would scribe some random nonsense on some of the records, next to the label. You can see some of the standard imprint in the reflection on the backdrop.

The compact cassette. Solely responsible for the upsurge in music piracy during the 80s and early 90s (before the advent of CD writers). Bow Wow Wow even wrote a song about it "C30 C60 C90". Like most teenagers who grew up in the 80s, most of my pocket money was spent on buying blank tapes (metal ones/Chrome Oxide were best, if I remember), sharing tapes, and copying each others record collection.
AC/DC classic band and still one of my favorites, on the reverse Motorhead "No Sleep till Hammersmith" and Spyder. Lemmy used to scare me!

And the record...? Now thats what I call... Xmas! All my Venom, Motorhead and thrash metal albums in the landfill, and I keep this one?

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.