Cuddles for Grandad

Len's birthday today. George and Kat came round with William to wish him Happy Birthday and give card and present.

I made a birthday cake which was almost a total failure. The lads agreed the icing tasted nice. It was intended to be a sponge, light and airy. But I used eggs that were stale AND I used the mixer on a slow speed to 'fold in' the flour. The cake turned out flat as a pancake. Useful as a platform for jam and icing.

Everybody laughed. George and Len dutifully ate a slice. At least it wasn't rock hard.

Grandad Len had a super cuddling session with William who slept all the time.

The day had turned out fine. Not too hot, blue sky. I took Basil out with me at 6 pm to go and see the poppies on Tickow Lane once more. They have past their best as a crowd show although there are plenty left and more buds to break.

I'm not sure I got the photos I wanted. I finally managed to capture shots of bees. The bees didn't linger long on the flowers. Perhaps there isn't that much nectar to garner.

It had gone 8 pm by the time I finished, and I sat on a nearby seat on the railway line path to enjoy the view. By this time, cloud had gathered but the sun broke through and its rays raked over the poppy field. Wonderful sight.

In three years or so, the only outlook from this position will be of houses coming right up to the old railway line.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.