A Suffolk Eye

By CroPage

The General View

How I love the lovely lovely view from the platform at Woodbridge station - bright onto masts, riverside, incoming tide, the looming, haunted woodlands of Sutton Hoo. It's a light onto another, non-mundane world where we don't have to work and be dutiful.

So here's an anarchic poem by Stevie Smith

Lady 'Rogue' Singleton

Come,wed me,Lady Singleton
And we will have a baby soon
And we will live in Edmonton
Where all the friendly people run.
 
I could never make you happy, darling,
Or give you the baby you want,
I would always very much rather,   dear,
     Live in a tent.
 
I am not a cold woman, Henry,
But I do not feel for you,
What I feel for the elephants 
        and the miasmas,
And the general view

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.