Celebrating 4th of July.......

I have been out and about, looking and documenting the ways that the citizens of this great country celebrate it's birthday.  I have photographed flags, banners, signs, front gate decorations,  streamers (wrapped around posts and trees), flying from shrubs, mailboxes, and front porches.

I think the greatest expression of our country is watching people, live their lives, do what they want, create families, homes, professions. I saw a farmer, plowing his fields on this day, by his own choice.  This farmer is going to plant some sort of crop, grow it, harvest it and then take it to market.  He will contribute to feeding our populace, choose how he wants to work,  what he is able to give to the family, where the family will live and worship, go to school.....

     I chose to spend the afternoon listening to beautiful music of the past greats....  Elvis Presley, Roy Orboson, Tom Jones, John Lennon.... Rina Turner, the great Andre Bocceli,  John Cohen, and others......    I have felt such joy and peace.

So:  I wish all of my fellow Americans the joy and peace that this great country can offer.   May you plow your fields, go for a hike, watch TV, take a nap, or whatever.....        Happy Birthday, USA.  May we celebrate many more.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.