Early morning

Dressing Gown

watercolor clouds
dappled gray,
warm cream, pastel blue
briefly cloak in
sunrise, sunset silk
a once sea going vessel.
vanishing now, wrecked, 
mired, she sails to nowhere,
tide to tide, day to day
so drably dressed
in river mud

A mob of raucous crows in the trees outside woke me just after 5 this morning. I pulled on my dressing gown and went downstairs for my camera to catch the last rays of the sunrise. Early morning light is marvelous here.The pastel cloud reflections were gorgeous and later a small verse began repeating itself in my head as I washed our breakfast dishes. T is out on a walk and I'm happily stringing words and photographs together to the sound of birds and Raspberry's gentle snoring. Ah, vacation in Machiasport is so restorative for all.

Morning Spy

For the Record,
This day came in bright, warm and beautiful. 

Vessel, circa 1915

All hands happy except for the looming G20, 45 and North Korea

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.