WHAT A LOVELY MORNING

My friend, Amy, who is originally from Hong Kong, but who now lives in Swindon with her husband, Gary, asked me after church on Sunday whether we could meet up one day for a chat.  We love chatting after church, but there never seems to be enough time to see everyone.

We arranged to meet this morning and I said it would be good to walk up through The Lawns, a beautiful wooded area, which is near to where they live, and then on into Old Town to go for a coffee at Jack’s.

Amy told me that she often goes out for a walk early in the morning because it is so peaceful and loves looking at all the flowers in the nearby gardens, but she didn’t always know the names of them, so I was able to help.

We then walked on and when we got to Greywethers Avenue, which I blipped last August as part of my Street Challenge, I was able to explain to her about the stones and why the road was so called.  I took a photograph of Alan, the man driving the street cleaner, so he stopped and asked if he was famous - I told him he might be later when I did my Blip!  I think it quite amused Amy that I spoke to him, but you know me, I speak to everyone!

We then went into The Lawns, which is now a public park, owned by Swindon Council, but was previously the property of the land owning Goddard family.  We saw Ian, a Council worker, who was about to go into the little churchyard of Holy Rood Church to repair the Goddard Family vault, which had recently been vandalised.  The gate is not usually open, so it was fortuitous that we were there at just the right time!  It’s a very large tomb (middle right in my collage) and he told us that the lead coffin inside had also been damaged and allowed us to look inside (bottom right in the collage).  

Ian then told us that the door to the church was locked, but he just happened to have the key, so he opened up and allowed us to go inside.  After being outside in the sun, it was lovely and cool inside and we were able to take lots of photographs, chatting to him as we did (bottom middle photograph).

Until Christ Church was opened in 1851, this old Norman Church was the only church in Swindon, Wiltshire. Only the chancel area exists now but that is contained as a church in its own right.  Services are only held there on special occasions, most notably being the one held at dawn on Easter Sunday morning, which Mr. HCB and I have attended many times in the past.  

We then walked on into Old Town and had a coffee and more chat together.  It was good to learn more about Amy and her life in Hong Kong before she and Gary were married and came to live in England just over two years ago.  She was rather concerned that I had walked too far, but I assured her that I could walk back to her house, and on the way, we met Keith, Mr. HCB’s cricket buddy, who lives in the road just opposite where Amy lives.  They should have been at cricket today but the four day game that started on Monday, was over in two days!  I introduced them and Keith said he often saw Amy walking along and admiring the flowers in the gardens – now he will know her name!  I have done over 7,000 steps today, so am very pleased with myself and of course, it is always easier walking when you have good company.  When we arrived at Amy's house, I rang Mr. HCB and he kindly came to collect me, but not before we had all had a cuppa together and more chat.

As I said, what a lovely morning - thanks not only to Amy, but also to all those we met on our way.  Amy told me she misses her family, but was pleased that we had managed to meet for a chat today - I’m sure we will be doing it again!

"Don't walk behind me; 
     I may not lead. 
Don't walk in front of me; 
     I may not follow. 
Just walk beside me 
     and be my friend."
Albert Camus

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.