An ordinary life....

By Damnonii

My First Love...

Archive Blipped on 5th July 2017 on what would have been my grandpa's 101st birthday.


Bispham, Lancashire, a warm summer's day with my best friend Heather (in bikini sitting), my wonderful gran, me (standing) and my beloved grandpa.

This is the man who through his unconditional love for all his family, his patience, kindness, humbleness and his absolutely wicked sense of humour, taught me what it is to be a real man, a loving husband, a faithful friend and the absolute best grandpa ever.

No matter what was wrong, he could make it better.   No matter how upset or angry I could be over some teenage trauma, he could make me laugh and he always had a hidden stash of mint imperials or bon bons that he was happy to share "but don't tell your gran I'm giving you sweets before your dinner or she'll shoot the boots off me!"

My proudest moment was when he walked me down the aisle at my wedding.  He was weak from fighting the effects of Parkinson's disease but was determined to be by my side in my last moments as a single girl (and to support me should I change my mind :-))  

I didn't change my mind of course, as using my grandpa as a yard stick for the perfect man, I had chosen wisely :-)))

Happy 101st Birthday Grandpa <3 xx

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.