Hoverfly (maybe not)

I had an early morning walk with Finlay - we did an hour and he was fine, as it was not too hot.

Later I went to Wetherby to pay some money in to the bank - then took myself off on a 90 minute walk around the old railway lines the run around the town. They are now cycleways, so gentle, level walking.

This afternoon I messed around with some shots I took (not really happy with them) - one in extras shows an old bridge that carries the Wetherby to Harrogate road over the cutting. I like this bridge because of the iron ramparts rather than the normal stone seen around here. A three shot HDR as it was so dark down there!

I did spot a few hoverflies out on a purple weed in the garden so I grabbed my camera and macro lens. They never seemed to hover for long or stay on a flower for long - but I did catch this one filling up on nectar from the flower.

EDIT - it would seem that this is a bee, not a hoverfly. Thanks to gen2 for the id!

I am being paid tonight for my first photography ‘commission’….sadly it is in the form of fish and chips. I took some photos for the the ‘Village Chippy’ van at the gala last weekend - they wanted some to show off their new gazebo and people eating outside their van. The owner was a very pleased with what I did - so I am collecting my pay today. Do I have to declare it as ‘earnings’??? :-)  I wonder if the taxman would appreciate me saving him a handful of chips…..
 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.