lovelife209

By mindful_life

Abstract Thursday AT106 Growth

Today is my first challenge and it is growth.

Growth can mean several different things. Firstly I thought of growth in size. I considered photographing the sunflowers we repotted today. A friend of mine has been looking after them for me since they first grew from seeds because I have been having my garden landscaped.

However, when we were on our way out later on in the day my son pointed out this spider. We were in a bit of a rush but instead of hurrying the children into the car I stopped and took the time to have a look at the spider who was busy weaving his web. I commented to my son that it was quite a big spider and was very beautiful. He agreed entirely and it made me think more about growth. This spider, who at first seems to be quite insignificant in the grand scheme of our world was actually happily growing his web, creating its home and capturing the interest of a little boy who appreciates all creatures great and small on our planet. We all have a valuable place in our world even if sometimes that is difficult to see. When we are on the endless treadmill of work, eat, sleep, repeat, it can be difficult to see what our place is but by becoming more mindful, open and appreciative of all the wonderful things around us, the pleasure these things bring can show us exactly our place in the world.

I am also on a journey of growth in terms of my own personal development. This big, little, spider has helped me grow today by making me stop, see and appreciate the wonderful things that we tend not to notice in our frenetic lives.

Try to take a moment to feel the wind tickle your skin, hear the birds singing in the trees, savour the smell and taste of your first cup of coffee in the morning and study the beauty of a petal on your favourite flower and you too can open you mind to the wonderful things we forget to notice.

Today I have grown and so can you.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.