And today's star moth is..........

A Huge female Pine Hawk Moth!!
Although I catch Hawk moths in my moth trap with regularity, this is only the second Pine hawkmoth Sphinx pinastri I have caught. Described in UK moths as 'a nondescript greyish member of the hawk-moths' the pine hawk flies in one generation in May and June, it's range is restricted in Britain to the south and the east, but it is quite common in continental Europe.
Nondescript grey or not, I was quite impressed! 
On another note entirely, my poor Mum was ill today and has been taken to hospital for tests - Bless her. I left her last night telling the lady in the bed opposite about her cats, - the lady in the bed opposite had just announced 'she hates cats!' - could be interesting!!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.