Leaning In

Leaning forward, antennae pert ..... 'Oooooh MY!' 

Nothing startling but we exchange gos about the week and I bemoaned the fact I had looked at the reserve map  and taken the wrong route and before you guys can jump into this  about ' ladies and map reading', I am pretty good with maps (altho' I say it myself). So, having walked a fair distance in the heat I just knew I wasn't in the right habitat. By the time I got to the right habitat I was pretty shattered.

Called 'Rough Bank' it was aptly named but they left out the 'steep' bit as I slid in trainers over the rabbit holes and undulations trying to get shots of 'stuff' that really didn't want to be blipped - at any price! 

Pangs of conscience that the physio had said again only this week to be really careful as I've got a very dodgy knee and nearly passing out with the heat in the valley I was glad I hadn't brought the dogs. It was also quite spooky; so very quiet with a green blanket of trees under me and opposite stretching as far as I could see, the occasional raven call but utter silence. I felt very alone and wished Tilly was there to give me the heads up. Weirdly my mind started playing out scenarios and I just thought - this bank, these trainers, no phone, this knee ... I'm not going to get away. I'm not normally like this at all but the atmosphere there was odd. However all was good after the hike back as the car, with numerous signs up about theft, was still there and my water bottle tepid tho' it was, was great! I met no-one!

#1 son is now up in London for a stag weekend and we too are pretty full on here too.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.