The Bridge

A stick bridge over a muddy pond proved the perfect hunting spot for this damsel in the heat of the morning. Not quite what I was expecting to post today but had a lovely few hours with uniqueandlovely  who was kind enough to show me where she had seen the Purple Emperor butterflies last weekend. 

Drove down to West Sussex to the Knepp Estates where they say is 'now home to the UK's largest colony' of incredibly rare Purple Emperor butterflies which is our second largest butterfly after the Swallowtail. Living in the canopy it comes down to drink and that is what we were hoping for although UL had brought various bags of smelly concoctions to lure them down too. However, this was to no avail and we frustratingly didn't spot one! 

I shot to the main entrance of the Estate only to find it closed so ended up at Tugley woods where I had seen them last week but by now it was mid-day and far too hot to see them. After pacing the paths in full sun, laughing at a White Admiral who posed on my camera hood but nowhere else and with sweat positively dripping down my back I called it. 

The drive home was riveting with the match so the two and a half hours passed quickly! Great to see England winning. :)

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.