A Borage plant volunteers in the raised bed

I watered the vegetables early this morning as they looked rather parched. I also needed to pick three lettuce plants for Helena to give to her friend whom she was travelling with today on their trip to Oxfordshire.

I noticed a weed growing a while ago but didn't pick it, and now I realise that it is a Borage plant. I brought one into the garden some years ago and they have self seeded a few times in odd places around the garden. It must have been in the soil when I dug it over in the spring. 

In the morning the light is rather scattered as the sun peers through the various trees before rising high in the sky by mid-morning. I liked the way parts of the flowering parts were illuminated. the plant is rather crowded in between tall sweet corn, mange tout, cabbages and lettuces. By I will let it grow as it is a very beneficial herb and I gather that the flowers can be eaten in salads. The tea is also rather beneficial for gastro problems so I might partake of a cup or two as a tonic in due course.

It is also a Flower Friday challenge today so I shall offer this up as an entry although the flower isn't very obvious.  It was very hard to get a clearer shot.  So I'd like to thank Anni (aka BikerBear) once again for the hosting honours.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.