A Light Emerald moth pays a visit

Late last evening this beautiful green moth flew into my study (many thanks to Monkey and Gen2 for telling me that its name is Light Emerald – Campaea margaritaria) and it didn't move again. I took some pictures quickly as I'm trying to record all the varied moths which appear, mostly outside the window. 

Our house backs onto a farmed valley with a lot of woodland on the eastern edge of Stroud, on the old High Field, according to old maps. As a result the lights attract a huge range of moths, and a number of bats who like to eat them. It is hard to photograph them at night, so when they make an appearance indoors I take the opportunity to get as close as possible. 

When I got up early in the morning the moth had moved onto the window pane, facing out toward the light, obviously trying to get to safety. I took another picture in the bright daylight but it was even harder to get a good close up picture. So I've reverted to the night time shot with a high ISO and electric light. But I'm pleased I have this record of it as it has such a very unusual colour.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.