CleanSteve

By CleanSteve

Swallow eyeing me up at Park End bridge

I ran several errands in town early this morning after dropping Helena at the Shambles market, including having a much needed haircut. I then went to Gloucester to do more shopping ad get cheap fuel as I have some long car journeys in the next week. I'm going to near Leamington Spa on Sunday to attend the National Disc Golf Championships where I am taking pictures for the organiser, Derak Robins,  an old friend and former rival frisbee player, before he became the best in Britain, and I retired!

Halfway to Gloucester I suddenly decided to take the opportunity to divert to  the Sharpness Canal to enjoy a short break by the water, as the weather was so hot. I often go there to watch the swallows which nest under the swing bridge over the canal and I wasn't disappointed. They were in abundance as usual and spent time swooping along the canal and then high over the nearby trees hunting for airborne grubs to take to their young in the nest under the bridge. 

When the bridge swung open to let the narrowboats and cruisers pass through the birds continued to fly to their nests which gave a different view of their approaching flights. I'm always trying to get pictures of birds in flight so this was one of the few ones that were relatively sharp.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.