a lifetime burning

By Sheol

1877 to 2017

Cathy and I have spent a very hot (but enjoyable) day at Wimbledon.  Court number 1 has no roof or shade of any sort at the moment, and it was like an oven at 2pm this afternoon.  I think the new roof will be ready next year.

Cathy managed to get tickets for Court No1 in the ballot, so we had the pleasure of watching 3 games, one of which saw Britain's Johanna Konta go through to the next round.  This shot is taken from Venus Williams' match against Naomi Osaka and features those unsung heroes the ballboys and girls who were having to work hard in very warm conditions.

I got up at 4am this morning for a walk along the (largely) deserted Thames to get a shot of the sunrise over Tower Bridge, which is my extra.  I say largely deserted, the only people I saw were other photographers with exactly the same idea that I had.  It was a nice thing to do, but I was pleased to sneak back to bed once I got back to our hotel :-))

Having spent all day at Wimbledon, Cathy is busy watching the Murray match on the hotel TV at the moment, but I am about to drag her away from the tennis so that we can get some dinner.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.