a lifetime burning

By Sheol

Marching

We are still in London, and this morning saw us visit the British Museum for the Hokusai exhibition.  I have admired Hokusai's work since I first came across it in my early 20s and to finally see some of the original woodblock prints up close in all their subtlety was a delight.  

After a light lunch, Cathy went back to the hotel to watch some tennis (snooze) whilst I went to see the Gay Pride March.  It really was a fabulously inclusive event, take for example the members of all 3 branches of the armed forces, able to be open about their sexuality, whilst marching in full military order.  It was loud, and cheerful, and enormously good humoured and supportive, and there were just so many picture opportunities.  (... and before you ask I stopped to ask everyone whose photo I took whether they gave their permission).

Its also a very big event - I'm not sure how many people were watching but there were thousands and thousands of marchers.  [Later update 26,000 marched and 1 million watched - I said it was a big event!]

I've put up a couple of extras.  The young man with the contact lenses was delighted with what he looked like when photographed.  Its such a striking look, you might have thought he would have taken a selfie of two already - I know I would have!  If you are  at all interested in Game of Thrones you will see why I've entitled the last one "Daenerys Shoots Cannon".

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.