Jack James

By JackJames

Plaza de Something

Last day of excursions - today wasn't so interesting. We went to some old towns, and looked at a replica of a prehistoric cave (Altamira) that has the worlds most famous and important cave painting in it. That would have been interesting, if I'd been in the right mood - but I wasn't in 'museum mode' and so couldn't really bring myself to give a crap. Pity, really. In hindsight I learnt a bit about how they painted, how the searched for the form of the animal in the rock they painted on, but the fact that it was just a replica cave really took the wind out of the museum's sails. For me, at least. I guess that's why I study physical geography.

Was nice talking to the Guides on the trip - very friendly, and fun to walk about with, as the guides weren't too on the ball for the age group - I think that they'd tailored their shpeil to the 65+ age range.

Came back and went surfing on Somo with Fred. I had to rent a board, and they annoyingly gave me a massive foam yellow one despite my asking for a normal one. Still, managed to get at least some rides on some nice waves before a) the waves got MASSIVE and b) my arms gave up and I couldn't even paddle.

Back to Fred's for some tea, then I was so 'made of dust', as the Spanish say, that I was back home and in bed by 10:30.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.