Green Eyed Dragon

I decided to walk the Amwell Nature Reserve Dragonfly Trail as I haven't been there for a while. Gosh it was hot! I spent a long time trying to capture a hawker but suddenly the pair above dropped in front of me with a clatter onto the boardwalk handrail. What a shame that I didn't have my macro lens on, I could have got a beautifully detailed image. They kept bouncing and clattering up and down. When they parted he kept guard, presumably while she laid. I lost sight of her. I think they're black tailed skimmers. I've never photographed one before. The male has pruinescene on his abdomen like the broad bodied chaser I photographed in June.

Today's poem is One word is too often profaned by Percy Bysshe Shelley. http://www.bartleby.com/106/203.html

Shelley wouldn't use the word 'love' which is just as well, as Jane, the object of his affection was married. 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.