Is it a monster? No, an exuvia :-)

I was sitting on the garden bench overlooking the pond, soaking in some sun and hoping that would help against the cold. I noticed a rather huge critter against one of the water lily pads, so got my big zoom lens to have a better look. I recognised it for what it is, something that I've seen often in Singapore in the ponds of the Botanic Gardens. It's the last stage of the nymph phase of a dragon fly, when the nymph crept out of the water and gripped a leaf so that the newly developed dragonfly could free itself from its old skin. It must have been quite a whopper of a dragonfly, I wish I could have seen it coming out of this exuvia (had to look up the term for this last skin!) I'll keep checking if these dragon flies stay close to their place of metamorphosis , no sign of them so far!

The sun didn't help one bit with the cold, it's hot toddy time again in a bit !
But I did manage to view all the AT entries and leave my comments. Thanks so much for another collection of creative abstracts, 57 in total this time. You never cease to amaze me with your creations !

Next Thursday's optional theme is 'monster' and its tag will be AT107.
My picks for last week's special entries are:
SecondSeason  for her all natural fern abstract
Ninniex   for turning a fungus into a flapping bird
Tiebreaker  for a very warm heart of a lily
Anniemay  for a budding echinacea abstract and
richardg  for an ethereal yet warm abstract

Thank you all again !

And thank you for the comments, well wishes and stars for yesterday's Blip

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.