Congratulations!

Quiana Crittenden was one of about fifty performers at a benefit concert tonight at Maranatha Church, to raise money for the trauma treatment of the two teenaged girls targeted in a hate crime that resulted in two murders. I've linked the Guardian article before, but here it is again, in case anyone shows up who hasn't read it yet. The girls had three defenders. The third, a young activist named Micah, lived through the knife attack and has repeatedly requested that people focus their attention on the girls, who have survived a trauma that will mark them for life. Tonight, part of Portland did that. I made over 400 photographs of the benefit, and I'm really tired now, so I don't know if this photo is representative of the event, but I loved the pleasure on Ms. Crittenden's face when the man behind her leaned forward to congratulate her right after her performance. When you know you were fabulous: that smile.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.