Message in a Box

Dear Diary,

We have heard of a message in a bottle, in fact, while I was staying on South Uist in the Outer Hebrides back in 2011 one washed up on the shores.  It had been cast into the sea off the New England coast as a tribute to a departed sailor.  It took a year to arrive on South Uist.  You can read about it here

My message came to me in a box of school stuff Matt brought down from the barn attic.  This message has taken 7 years to get back to me (that's how long ago I stored that box!)  This is a message I sent myself all those years ago.  After I read it and reflected on its message I mailed it off to a friend in Minnesota.  It only took 3 days to get to her this time!

When I was staying on Iona back in 2014 I wrote a note home to myself.  I wanted to remember my stay on that amazing island when I returned.  It was fun to open the note a few weeks later and read my words, it brought the whole experience back to me.  I will add that note to my personal scrapbook along with some of my photos from that trip.  Maybe, years and years from now someone will open up the scrapbook and read the message.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.