CRICKET AND RETAIL THERAPY

Mr. HCB was due to go to cricket today and as his cricket buddy, Keith, was unable to go, I decided to go with him. It was rather cloudy but that never deters Mr. HCB and he did say there wasn't much shade at the ground so "cloudy" was good!

It's the Cheltenham Festival and quite a "biggie" in the cricket world so although I'm not that into cricket, I thought that a few minutes watching cricket and then popping off to do some retail therapy might be a good idea.

A cricketing friend of Mr. HCB had complimented me on my bread pudding last year - so I had been saving bread in the freezer since Christmas with the intention of making a very large bread pudding so that Mr. HCB could take some to Cheltenham with him. Of course, after it was made we had to sample it and even though I say so myself, it was rather good - I just hope it goes down well with his cricketing friends!

I watched cricket for about an hour and was interested in the "cricket speak". I heard "All he needs is to get an edge through the slips" and "Good shot!" and, of course, one has to clap whenever a batsman makes a good shot, whether or not you were watching at the time - that's cricket, my dear!

After a while I heard the shops calling my name so off I went. Wonder if you can guess from my collage which shop I visited? Suffice to say that even in the sale, it cost "an arm and a leg" but as well as laughing every day, my philosophy is that "shrouds have no pockets" so we may as well spend our money while we can enjoy it - and I did!

I was helped by a lovely young lady called, Jaime, who said she was new, but who definitely knew her stuff - and I did mention this to her Manager. If we do decide to go somewhere special for our Golden Wedding Anniversary next year, I now have some very nice clothes, so I hope Mr. HCB will be pleased!

MONDAY -
nothing a bit of
retail therapy
can't fix!
Anon - and Mrs. HCB!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.