Piping Hot!

I've high-tailed it across the border this weekend to sunny North Wales to meet up with my old chum, Mel, https://www.blipfoto.com/entry/2097035031565303973 for a couple of days camping and enjoying the music at the bijou folk festival that is Folk At The Hall, in Trelawnyd, near Rhyl.

I spent tonight dancing my socks off to the music of Mawkin, Peatbog Faeries and a new-ish band of young Highlanders, Tide Lines, whose piper and guitarist, Ali Turner (pictured above) was my favourite musician of the evening. His guitar playing put me in mind of Stuart Adamson’s work with Big Country and The Skids, and his dexterity on the bagpipes was a wonder to witness!

You can get an idea of it here… www.youtube.com/watch?v=I2VrLvswPjE …if you don't mind getting a crick in your neck!

More tomorrow!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.