Admiral + , + Bee.

I just could NOT resist that.

It's so long since I've seen one that I couldn't remember if I have ever seen a "Comma" butterfly. And seeing these 3 insects together had to be worth a blip. We have the same Sedum, but never attract that degree of diversity.
Today's voyage took us to "Plant World" where I have to admit I liked the idea, but was underwhelmed by the state of it. In fairness, they did have a message of apology up: saying they were trying to recover from the worst winter for many years, which I thought was the winter B4 last. We also called in after most things had finished flowering.

It was laid out in the form of a map of the world on the hillside, with grass representing the oceans and plants from each continent in HUGE, continent shaped beds.

I was, however, much impressed by the view from the cafe and the variety of available seeds for sale. They had things from Abutilon to Zinnia and, wudjer bleev it 58 species of tomato? Yellow, brown, "purple", stripey, green when ripe, round, long thin, all sizes from pea-sized to HUGE.
Needless to say I am now the proud owner of a catalogue.
Just checked their web page...Tomatoes from
"Alaskan Fancy" ... "As its name suggests, this variety of plum tomato was bred to mature in places where the growing season is short."
to
"Zapotec pleated"..."The large, mild-tasting, deep pink fruit are very attractive indeed, especially when sliced, with pronounced pleats and hollows within the flesh. "

Anybody madly into plants will find them here.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.