Wind Change

When I had done everything I could think of to prepare for the threatened storm I drove a few kilometres out onto the Canterbury Plains, with the mountains in my rear vision mirror. Then I turned back to catch the best views. At the first stop the southerly front arrived, with a roar in the nearby pine trees and a scattering of raindrops. I took advantage of the huge shelter belt on the south side of the road, stopping where the road was still dry. The speed of the change in the sky was awe inspiring. The bright clouds over the mountains are associated with the nor’west system. It brought a mild, dry wind that dried my washing and made the morning pleasant. Charging in from the left are the dark southerly clouds bearing cold rain and snow. The sky grew black very quickly, but by that time the rain was too heavy for my camera.

Looks good in full screen.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.