Waxeyes In the Snow

I awoke to a bright morning that turned out to be moonlight on snow. The snow was not very deep and I easily found my newspaper outside the gate. Everything was covered in snow, but not so much to break branches.

The snow had stopped and the waxeyes were scrapping over the fat. I topped up their sugar water and took a few shots, and then the snow started again. I dashed out twice more in the sleet and snow to refill the sugar water dispenser, but I left my camera inside. One time I went out I took a ruler with me and measured the depth of snow at 19 cms. It was still snowing as darkness fell.

All day the waxeyes fought and fluttered about the tree outside the kitchen window. It’s a pity the glass is too flawed for photos because I saw some great goings on. Mated pairs huddled together for warmth. They look so cute.

I have a feeling that I am stuck here for the duration. My car is buried. I’m glad I have plenty of wood on the veranda.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.