Anchors Away

Three years ago at this time there were dolphins scattered around Aberdeen, as in this shot from 11th July 2014. Now it this year it is anchors, these painted anchors are harder to find, there are only 20, and one or more  have travelled to distant shores around Scotland. Yesterday during my visit to Fittie I saw one there, it would have been my Blip but it was discarded in favour of the cable laying vessel.

So away with anchors until another day. As I was walking along Queen's Road I happened to notice this dolphin. I already know it is there, and I was not particularly looking to take a photograph of the dolphin. I thought it might be the Blip of the Day if nothing else cropped up.

The dolphin is in the car park of a office building. I thought it might look happier near the sea so I replaced the background. Office car park away also, and Aberdeen view of North Sea instead.

When I reached what was going to be the furthest point away from my apartment, and as I turned around, I thought I would extend my step count for the day and walk as far back as Union Square. After about five minutes I noticed some very dark clouds were approaching. I was passing a bus stop, and one of the people there told me a bus was due, I decided it would be prudent to take shelter on a bus.

It was just starting to rain, we could see the bus stuck in traffic at a roundabout. The rain was getting heavier by the second, there was no bus shelter, we were willing the bus to arrive before we got caught in a heavy shower. We were no sooner on the bus than the skies opened and dumped bucket loads of rain on the bus. We were just in time! So my step count for the day was several thousand fewer than I had intended.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.