Pennsylvania Beach Scene: Bald Eagle State Park

My husband and I traveled to a family reunion on Sunday, and as we arrived home in still-perfect weather, he lamented that we had not had a chance to go swimming in the past few days. So we agreed that on Monday afternoon, at the end of my work day, we'd take my new car and drive up to Bald Eagle State Park for a quick swim.

But when I got up Monday morning and looked at the weather map, I saw storms moving in from Ohio. I suspected that by afternoon's end, we might have rain instead of the mixed sun and clouds the day started with.

So I made an administrative decision and marked a few hours of vacation time, and we hopped in my new car and away we went. We had a delightful swim at Bald Eagle, and the water was smooth as glass, perfect for reflections.

I like to people watch in places like this, and of course, I had my camera with me and snapped some pictures. The photo above was among that set: you may see families playing in the sand and in the water, and people getting ready to launch a few canoes into these quiet waters.

The beach was rather quiet and mellow on this morning, not even quite as busy as Greenwood Furnace a few weeks ago, and DEFINITELY much different than the beach in Atlantic City week before last!

Let's let the song be about a favorite beach activity of mine: Beachcombing, by Mark Knopfler and Emmylou Harris, from their album All the Roadrunning.

Bonus: For those who enjoyed this scene, here's another shot of Bald Eagle State Park in summertime.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.