One Swallow Doesn't Make a Summer!

It was drizzly when I drove in to work, and when I saw the mist rising over Mount Nittany, I knew exactly where I needed to go: Millbrook Marsh, which I hadn't visited since late May, when you might say I was new-baptized in these waters. Yes, as you may recall, last time, I fell right in!

The spot along the creek where I like to take my best mist shots was slick as could be, but I was wary this time. Inching my way slowly along the muddy bank and hanging onto a bush for support, I made it safely onto the rocks by the creek for some photo ops. It was indeed misty and delightful, as I had suspected it would be.

It was very peaceful and quiet, and I stood and watched a group of mallards head downstream. I am also here to report that the Millbrook mosquitoes are pretty darn blood-thirsty, and one of them bit me on my left inner thigh. That wasn't very polite at all! So indeed, even my blood has become part of this place. . . .

On my walk back to my car, I stopped by the little bridge over the run to have a look (and scratch my brand new mosquito bite), and I discovered several pretty little birds sitting on the wooden railing. My bird experts somehow haven't chimed in yet, but I believe the bird in front to be a barn swallow, probably a juvenile.

It was quite chummy with the little brown bird behind it, but I have to admit I am not sure what that one is. I'd like it to be another kind of swallow so that I could finish this quote by saying: "One swallow doesn't make a summer, but maybe two DO!" But then I'd feel silly if I were wrong, wouldn't I?  :-)

The soundtrack has to be a song about birds, and here's a good one that I've only ever used once here: Lynyrd Skynyrd, with Freebird, from 1975.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.