Out with the old, in with the new.

Throughout the year I save £1.00 coins to give to the children at Christmas time. With the introduction of the new one pound coin I am finding that I am getting them in my change as a matter of course now so time to change the old ones, which cease to be legal tender 15 October.
I put them in Steradent Tubes (no, I don't have false teeth but F.M.i.L. does) so I emptied them out and packaged them into cash bags obtained from the post office. Took £140 in old coins to the post office this morning and they exchanged them for new pound coins.

Good news for the children is that a full steradent tube in 'old money' contained £54. Filling the tubes with the new coins they contain £60, that's inflation for you, smaller coins, more money for the children at Christmas!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.