Not the best news from the vets today. Lime has irreparable damage to his annular ligament. It's thickened to twice the size it should be and he's lame because it's pressing on his tendon sheath. He's had a steroid injection to ease the discomfort but they have said this is a temporary measure and may only give him 6 months pain free. We may also be able to manage it using Bute but I am going to be very limited what I can do with him now so it looks like semi retirement for him. The only other option is an operation to cut the ligament but success isn't guaranteed as there may be other damage internally also he would need around 6 weeks box rest which I don't think will be do-able.

Feel heart broken. He's still so full of energy. It feels so cruel that all we can do now is potter about in walk.

He'll have a home with me till the end of his days. He'll always be my one in a million horse.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.