secret garden

By freespiral

Whiddy Ferry

What a difference a day makes - the skies lifted, the mizzle ceased and the sun shone. I abandoned all to in favour of a little island hopping - again, second time this week! This time it was Whiddy - 15 minutes off shore from Bantry, and my mission was to replenish the cards; they kindly take some in the pub. The pic shows the teeny ferry having just arrived - the sky and sea was incredible. The water so clear I could see enormous starfish and jellyfish doing their thing below. Cards replenished I had time for a wander. The island is historic and full of interesting things due to its strategic position in Bantry Bay. A new path has been made up to the Napoleonic Battery perched on a drumlin. if this was in the UK, English Heritage would have snapped it up, spruced it up, installed authentic soldiers and an ice cream van. Nothing here and it is the most impressive structure  - a barracks and gun emplacements surrounded by a colossal, dry stone moat with now dodgy looking wooden bridge to get to  it. Not that you are actually allowed in for there's barbed wire and danger signs all over the place. I just ventured briefly onto the bridge to take a photo but last time, son#1 and I went gingerly across - it felt very spooky and we were a bit unnerved to find the interior occupied by wild goats.

Home via Schull and book deliveries this time. I was delighted to find the local supermarket offering pistachio ice cream. My favourite. A quick trip to a possible holy well  (see  extra for the most extraordinary BMV ever- has she got googly eyes??) followed by a divine swim and now relax!

Himself has dried out and made it on the next leg of the Beara Way - 15 miles today with another mile diversion to look at a stone circle. Impressive. I have to pick him up somewhere in a layby near Kenmare tomorrow after another big day. I have a couple of adventures planned on the way.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.