White Rabbit?

This is sundays blip - I'm so behind!
I spent the day with Gilesey and we went to St Antony. getting there was a bit fraught as the road we wanted was closed by the police - accident we thought. So made our way back and took another route - the one my google maps had told me to take in the first place but I ignored! As we travelled further down we saw side roads blocked by more police and we had seen a helicopter overhead and 2 police cars. A manhunt we thought? We found out travelling on our way back with the roads still blocked that it had been a 5 car accident and 3 fatalities. Such an tragic day for many people. So much hurt and pain to come. 

St Antony was glorious - the garden was designed by Humphrey Repton  and it was used as the setting for Tim Burton's Alice in Wonderland and it is obvious to see why with it's long, tall  hedges. You do expect the White Rabbit to run out of the hedges or The Queen of Hearts playing croquet with hedgehogs and flamingos! The lady's Summer Garden with it's beautiful gate, colourful borders and the box hedge and herb parterre is just a delight.
The inside of the house has some nice bits but overall not inspiring. I do love a piece of glass art which looks hollow but is in fact one piece, and was taken with what I thought was sunlight coming through the marble urn in extras. In fact it is intrinsic to the marble itself
We had egg sandwiches for lunch and a lovely long catch up - although I did scandalise Gilesey by telling her about my delight of drinking shandy! As a real Ale girl she was horrified and threatened to dump me as a friend! I kinda guessed she would not be pleased! 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.