All the Fun of the ....

The owners of the Art Gallery and the sewing Make New and Mend had their 50th birthday party today at Dingles Heritage Fairground. Two coaches had been laid on leaving the village at 6.15 - place must have been like a ghost town ! I drove there with The Angel as I'm not a great passenger - I feel sick if I can't see the road! Plus I like to be in control of when I leave an event!!
Well what a fantastic evening! The Fairground was indoors with original old rides and games, carousel, Rocket Chaser, ghost train, roundabout ( which had unfortunatly broken down that day!) and the largest dodgem track in England to name a few rides! To say the dodgems was the most popular is an understatement! By the end of the evening it was just hilarious watching them and hearing the ride supervisor humorously chastising them on her tannoy for misbehaviour! 
The Angel and I had fun in the Hall of Mirrors but neither of us actually went on a ride!! I've never liked them -they make me feel sick! I was tempted but was having so much fun photographing others and chatting I didn't! The Gardener and I did try our hand at winning a fish and coconut but sadly failed at both! The rides were free but the games you had to buy tokens for  which made it fun! Food was also for sale, including candyfloss and Ice-cream - of which I had both! It was a take your own booze event! I stayed safe on shandy!
I have to say it is the most brilliant place and  I will go back to visit the museum they also have there. As a party event it could not be beaten - so much fun and for me a photographic overload of possibilities! I tried to get the birthday "girls" and other things that caught my eye, including a chicken! But the dodgems were just too fun to watch and I took sooo many of those! The majority I posted on the party Facebook page but a small portion can be seen in the whole album!
Time to go and first I had to rescue my plastic Waitrose cup from the black bin liner and then hunt for my cardigan - it was so hot I hadn't needed it! Nowhere to be found - I reckoned another party goer had scooped it up by mistake! It wasn't in the car either as I had half hoped! We gave Airstream Pete the husband of Compassionate Girl a lift home - she was on a course and missed the event! It was a clear night sky with a full moon and we had such a lovely drive home and chat about driving ( he approved of mine but not others!) how one got to know people in the village but not really about their past lives, seems he found out by chance he and Friend grew up in the same area! 
When I finally got home after dropping him off high near KitHill and The Angel had checked in on her son who was staying at Party Girls with her son all alone before I took her home, I got home and found my cardigan on the kitchen sofa! What a good end to a fabulous evening! 

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.