horns of wilmington's cow

By anth

See-Through

"Could I take a photo of the x-rays?"

"Officially... No. But oh look, I need to get a form from over there...."

Good and bad at the fracture clinic today, but more good than bad. Mainly because the physical is all good - the arm is straight, the physio is happy with the range of motion, the exit wound is healed underneath, so just needs tightly dressed on its own. The bad is finding out it'll actually take 6-8 weeks for the bone to knit together, and it'll probably be a little after that before I can ride the bike out on the road (fortunately I can get on the turbo trainer without putting any weight on the arm).

You can see the crack in the bone still, and the metalwork is quite impressive (and is the latest tech, upgraded from what was in my arm previously); but I've got some additional exercises to increase the range of motion, as well as ensuring I don't lose strength in the shoulder.

Rounded off the hospital trip with lunch with Ken (given he'd given me a lift it only seemed fair to make it worthwhile); and got back to some good news with work as well. So I'm not complaining. Too much.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.