Working on the road repairs

I walked past the road repairs early this morning.  The foreman asked me if I was a local resident and if I was the person writing the story for the local paper.  He recognized me from the other day when I took a picture of the crew.  I told him that I was just taking photos for my own interest.  He said that they'd left a big roll of the material that they use before they add rocks and other fill just to the side of the road, and this morning it was gone.  Seriously?  He was angry, because it's expensive and has to be brought over from Vancouver, adding to the cost - and why would anyone want to delay the repairs?  He asked me to spread the word about the theft and if anyone knew anything, to let him know.  The material can be seen on the left of the photo.  The guy in the photo went down the part that's being filled in just after the foreman did, who's in the extra.  I missed them both taking the initial jump into the drop off!   You can see in the extra how close the work is to the beach.
I hung around for awhile, waiting for the trucks that are delivering the huge rocks, then decided to continue my walk.  When I was driving home, there was a truck dumping rocks and I was stopped by a flag person.  There were huge clouds of dust, so it might not be such a great idea to get a photo - not sure I want all that dust in the camera!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.