Gluten wars

I've felt dodgy ever since getting back from the last South Sudan trip. Cough, bunged up head, copious snot and a terrible stomach. Unless it's something obviously tropical such as malaria I don't feel like doctors in the UK can advise that well. Hayfever I am tempted to rule out even though it sounds like vicious pollen has caused a pandemic this year.

Stomach woes kicked in when I snaffled a spaghetti carbonara in Nairobi after a few weeks of no dairy and nothing rich. I realise that an intolerance to certain foods has been building for years, only now attacking with a vengeance. Something about the way that bread, cereals and cakes are processed in the UK does not agree with me in the slightest, although the taste agrees hugely. I am starting to make (some) conscious choices about avoiding gluten heavy foods and although it's hard having such a random routine, I can already see benefits.

I went to London after work to join Jackie's birthday meal - a nice bit of Japanese in torrentially rainy Kings Cross. Positive effect on the stomach. The Japanese never look bloated or as if they're dashing to the lavatory every twenty minutes.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.