A Day on Campobello Island

Dear Diary,

We spent a delightful day on Campobello Island, Canada which is very nearby Machaisport over the international bridge.  I am glad Betsey reminded me to bring my passport.  Of course, we had to visit the Roosevelt summer home before making our way to Herring Cove on the other side of the island...my beach of metaphors.  The stones there are amazing.

The sea was very calm with the fog teasing the coast.  From time to time the tiny island was encircled making for a beautiful and iconic Maine seascape.  I watched a seal placidly fishing the schools of fish and I was enveloped in the peace of this place.

Earlier we had enjoyed a delicious lobster roll at The Fireside, a restaurant that was once the summer home of Eleanor Roosevelt's cousin.  (I've added a "foodie" to tempt you!)  Of course there was a visit to one of the island lighthouses and a gift shop that Betsey first visited with her grandmother 60 years ago.  Things don't change much on Campobello and I think that's why people have been journeying here since the mid-19th century.

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.