Quod oculus meus videt

By GrahamColling

The Straining Tower

Another glorious morning at Lake Vyrnwy.  On this occasion there was a short period between 7:30 and 8:00 am when the water went mirror smooth.  

I got one panoramic from the dam wall but also put up the drone, flying it the half mile across the water to the straining tower to get some shots that would be impossible without an aerial platform.  There is an almost delicious trepidation sending the drone out over water.  I won't tempt fate here, but the modern drone is a very sophisticated machine.  I'm glad to say it performed faultlessly on this occasion and returned unscathed.

Whenever I see this tower it reminds me of Highland Stately homes.  The Liverpudlians that commissioned the dam obviously had a sense of style!

Comments
Sign in or get an account to comment.